Why An Expensive Gym Membership?

In 2013, exactly a decade ago.

I embarked on a fitness journey, full of zeal and determination.

Motivated by the prospect of a healthier lifestyle.

I signed up for an upscale gym membership.

The facilities were top-notch, and the initial workouts were invigorating.

However, life, as it tends to do, threw me a curveball.

Work demands increased, personal commitments multiplied, and that initial burst of motivation began to wane.

The gym, once a sanctuary, turned into a reminder of unfulfilled promises.

Despite my sporadic attendance, every month, without fail, the membership fee was automatically deducted from my bank account.

The financial commitment, like a table alarm, reminded me constantly.

"I've paid for it, so I should go."

Dragging myself to the gym felt like a chore.

A duty to justify the money spent rather than a pursuit of genuine well-being.

But, I am glad I made that choice – rather, that choice was forced on me!

I could trace the turning point in my journey back to that moment.

In just few months, I become Fitter - Active - Motivated then ever before

Those changes ware forced on me - THOSE SWEET CHANGES

Skin In The Game

There’s a cognitive bias in psychology called “The Sunk Cost Fallacy”.

“The Sunk Cost Fallacy describes our tendency to follow through on an endeavor if we have already invested time, effort, or money into it, whether or not the current costs outweigh the benefits.”

“The Sunk Cost Fallacy” propelled me forward.

Sunk cost compels you to continue reading a book even when they are already halfway through.

Sunk cost is the reason you continue you stay in your loveless marriage of 14 years.

Sunk cost is the reason why you choose to complete their 4-year liberal arts degree, despite accumulating significant debt and attending mandatory classes on gender studies.

Now, you might look at these examples and wonder WTF is wrong with me.

(I often wonder that too).

But, stay with me here…

We can flip this cognitive bias and use it to our advantage…

The money spent on the membership dragged me to become what I am today!

The investment you make in yourself forces you to change.

And advance!

It wasn't about the money I spent on the gym membership; it was about investing in myself.

I want to emphasize the significance of investing a substantial amount in what truly matters to you.

It’s a commitment to the person you want to become.

This applies to:

• Enhancing your skills through mentorship

• Feeling more confident (high-quality clothes)

• Bettering your health (high-end gym membership)

So be the person you want to see in future. Invest now!

If you enjoy this content, share to help others too♻️.

And follow me on X (formally twitter) @Leadership_Fy for more like it. 📌

Enjoy business, leadership, and self-mastery? Try my free newsletter by clicking the subscribe button for ultra-practical tips twice a week.

Join the conversation

or to participate.