Frustrated, Angry, or Helpless?

Ever felt frustrated, angry, or helpless in dealing with a difficult situation at work?

I know I have.

In fact, there were times when I almost quit my job as a manager because I couldn't handle the stress and the emotions of myself and others.

But then I learned something that changed everything, called:

Emotional intelligence.

It is to understand and manage your own emotions and those of others.

You need to master four skills for that:

  1. Self-awareness,

  2. Self-regulation,

  3. Empathy, and

  4. Social skills.

These skills are essential for any manager who wants to lead effectively, communicate clearly, and build trust with their team.

Here is an examples of how emotional intelligence helped me overcome some of the biggest challenges in my management career:

When I first became a manager, I was very impatient and demanding with my team.

I expected them to perform at a high level without giving them enough feedback or support.

I often lost my temper and criticized them harshly when they made mistakes.

As a result, my team was unhappy, unmotivated, and unproductive.

However, when I started to pay more attention to how I felt and why I reacted the way I did.

I learned to calm myself down and control my impulses.

I also learned to give constructive feedback and praise instead of blame and punishment.

By doing this, I was able to improve my relationship with my team and increase their performance and satisfaction.

Here is the secret how I mastered to effectively deal with people.

  • I read books and articles on emotional intelligence, such as Emotional Intelligence 2.0 by Travis Bradberry and Jean Greaves or Harvard Business Review's 10 Must Reads on Emotional Intelligence.

  • I took online assessment or quiz to measure your emotional intelligence level, such as the Emotional Intelligence Appraisal or the Emotional Intelligence Test.

  • Enroll in a course or workshop on emotional intelligence, such as the Emotional Intelligence for Managers course by Coursera or the Emotional Intelligence Training by Udemy.

  • I practiced emotional intelligence skills every day by reflecting on my emotions, managing my stress, empathizing with others, and communicating effectively.

If I can do it - you can do it too!

The way to out perform everyone is simple

Read, Learn and Apply!

I hope you found this post helpful and interesting.

If you did, please like, comment, or share it with your network.

And if you have any questions or stories about emotional intelligence, please feel free to share them in the comments below.

Thank you for reading!

Join the conversation

or to participate.